Henrike Naumann wins the Advancement Award 2019

Scholarship is awarded to Annika Kahrs

Henrike Naumann is awarded with the Max Pechstein Advancement Award (Max-Pechstein-Förderpreis) of the city of Zwickau in 2019. This decision was taken by the jury after three hours of intensive debate. The scholarship is awarded to Annika Kahrs. Both artists as well as the other three nominees present their artwork in a temporary exhibition in the KUNSTSAMMLUNGEN ZWICKAU Max-Pechstein-Museum between 1 September and 27 October 2019.

A total of five promising candidates were nominated and suggested by renowned curators.

Elsa Artmann & Samuel Duvoisin × Lena Brüggemann × D21 Kunstraum Leipzig
Kasia Fudakowski × Dr. Jule Hillgärtner × Kunstverein Braunschweig
Annika Kahrs × Bettina Steinbrügge × Kunstverein in Hamburg
Henrike Naumann × Dr. Frédéric Bußmann × Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz
Simon Pfeffel × Dr. Nicole Fritz × Kunsthalle Tübingen

The Max Pechstein Advancement Award exhibition offers an exciting perspective regarding latest contemporary art by young artists. It is sort of a snapshot illustrating various artistic means of design and topics a new generation of artists is dealing with. Again and again over the past years we have noticed that these young artists exactly ask those questions our society is currently concerned about. The works of the 2019 candidates raise questions about how we live with each other, how we communicate with each other or where we are coming from. They mirror universal or very individual life situations and experiences as well as the complexity of these days by completely different aesthetic approaches.


Data Protection Policy