The Max Pechstein Collection hosted by the KUNSTSAMMLUNGEN ZWICKAU

Max Pechstein’s first artworks – initially works on paper – were acquired by Hildebrand Gurlitt (museum director 1925–1930) in 1925. The young director sought to set up a collection of contemporary art. Thanks to his efforts the museum was able to acquire two Pechstein paintings in 1926, among them the painting ‘Still life with fruit bowl’ (1912) still owned by the museum. During the National Socialist era and former GDR the museum did not acquire any further Pechstein paintings, except for ‘Sunflowers’ from 1948 which could be acquired from private ownership in 1975.

Only since the mid-1990s the collection has been expanded with important works such as the two-sided painting ‘Floral still life with calla/Floral still life with mask from New Ireland’ (1917) or the Palau painting ‘Chogealls’ (1917). As being strongly committed to Pechstein and his artwork in recent years the museum was also able to enrich its own holdings by important loans from private ownership. 

Furthermore the collection comprises more than 150 drawings, watercolors and prints as well as applied works and more than 450 letters and postcards illustrated by the artist himself; these are considered important documents for art history research. The museum presents this outstanding component of the Pechstein collection primarily in temporary exhibitions and thus continuously highlights particular aspects of his work.

Die Max-Pechstein-Sammlung in den KUNSTSAMMLUNGEN ZWICKAU

Die ersten Werke Max Pechsteins – zunächst Arbeiten auf Papier – wurden 1925 durch Hildebrand Gurlitt (Museumsdirektor von 1925-1930) angekauft. Der junge Direktor bemühte sich außerdem um den Aufbau eines Bestandes an Werken zeitgenössischer Kunst. Ihm ist 1926 der Erwerb zweier Pechstein-Gemälde zu verdanken, darunter das sich noch heute im Haus befindliche „Stilleben mit Fruchtschale“ (1912). Während der Zeit des Nationalsozialismus und DDR gelangten bis auf Pechsteins „Sonnenblumen“ von 1948, die 1975 aus Privatbesitz erworben wurden, keine weiteren Gemälde des Künstlers in das Museum.
Erst seit Mitte der 1990er-Jahre ist es gelungen, die Sammlung mit bedeutenden Arbeiten wie dem doppelseitigen Gemälde „Blumenstilleben mit Calla/Blumenstilleben mit Neuirland-Maske“ (1917) oder der Palau-Ansicht „Chogealls“ (1917) weiter auszubauen. Mit dem intensivierten Engagement für das Werk Pechsteins in den letzten Jahren konnten zudem die eigenen Bestände mit hochkarätigen Leihgaben aus Privatbesitz ergänzt werden.  

Weiterhin gehören zur Sammlung mehr als 150 Zeichnungen, Aquarelle und Druckgrafiken sowie angewandte Arbeiten und über 450 zum Teil eigenhändig illustrierte Briefe und Postkarten Pechsteins, die nicht zuletzt bedeutende Dokumente für die Kunstgeschichtsforschung darstellen. Dieser herausragende Teil der Sammlung wird vor allem im Rahmen von Sonderausstellungen, die kontinuierlich einzelne Aspekte zum Schaffen Pechsteins vorstellen, im Haus präsentiert.