Age of Sentimentalism

Art around 1800

This part of the exhibition presents the artistic development around 1800, the room comprises paintings as well as furnishing and decorative artwork. The artists Anton Graff and Heinrich Füger represent the noble reserve and theatrical staging of classical motifs like antique landscapes, historical paintings and portraits of those days.

This compares with the gently painted portraits created by Christian Leberecht Vogel showing a ‚sentimental‘ attitude cultivated at the court of the Earls of Solms-Wildenfels and others. Freedom of thought, genuine altruism and friendliness were considered as most important virtues – also in the sense of Enlightenment. The gentle face of the young Earl Friedrich Magnus III. does not only reveal a new perception of children but also demonstrates a perspective of art which is emotive, sentimental and deeply religious.

Landscape painting is increasingly focusing on natural sceneries to be found in the artists homeland. The artists shown by the museum like Johann Christian Klengel and Johann Gottlob Samuel Stamm from Dresden – both representatives of Romanticism – atmospherically picture their subjectively experienced understanding of nature.

Zeit der Empfindsamkeit

Kunst um 1800

Der mit Mobiliar und kunstgewerblichen Objekten inszenierte Gemälderaum ermöglicht einen Blick auf die Kunstentwicklung um 1800. Die Künstler Anton Graff und Heinrich Füger stehen stellvertretend für die vornehme Zurückhaltung und theatralische Inszenierung klassizistischer Bildthemen: antike Landschaften, Historienbilder und Porträts.

Dem gegenüber zeigt sich in den einfühlsam gemalten Bildnissen von Christian Leberecht Vogel eine „empfindsame" Geisteshaltung, wie sie unter anderem im Muldenland am Hof der Grafen zu Solms-Wildenfels gepflegt wurde. Als höchste Tugenden galten – auch im Sinne der Aufklärung – geistige Freiheit, ehrliche Nächstenliebe und menschliches Miteinander. Das zarte Gesicht des kleinen Grafen Friedrich Magnus III. spiegelt nicht nur eine neue Wahrnehmung von Kindern wider, sondern veranschaulicht gleichzeitig die Kunst-auffassung einer gefühlsgeladenen, von tiefer Religiosität geprägten Empfindsamkeit.

In der Landschaftsmalerei wird zunehmend die heimatliche Natur in den Blick genommen. Die hier vertretenen Künstler der Dresdner Romantik wie Johann Christian Klengel oder Johann Gottlob Samuel Stamm stellen eine subjektiv erlebte Natur als Stimmungsbild dar.