Link to big image version

Annika Kahrs presents her sound and video work in the museum’s entrance and cupola hall; the project title is ‘the lord loves changes, it’s one of his greatest delusions’. This work is influenced by the Afro-American composer, musician and performer Julius Eastman (1940–1990) who linked his minimalistic compositions with political, economic and religious respectively spiritual statements. Annika Kahrs now refers to a piece of music by Eastman comprising the melody of Luther’s famous chorale ‘Our good is a strong castle’ (Eine feste Burg ist unser Gott, probably late 1527). This chorale – considered as protest song of the Reformation movement, so to speak – has been repeatedly reinterpreted in other political and social contexts in later years.

Thus, Kahrs does not only use this piece of music in one context, but reflects the continuous shift, translation and reinterpretation of different structures of power within a social space-time continuum.

Annika Kahrs asked an expert to arrange a piece for organ inspired by Eastman’s track and the chorale. Together with the London composer Louis d’Heudieres she arranged a special music piece: A choir of 26 performers may whistle along and whistle against it as well. The collective whistling of the human choir competes with the organ’s mechanical whistling. This starts a musical process varying between melodic whistling and a gesture of protest, finally leading to obvious physical exhaustion.

 

Annika Kahrs lives and works in Hamburg and Berlin.

1984 Born in Achim
2005 until 2012 Studied fine arts at the University of Fine Arts Hamburg, the Academy of Fine Art Vienna and the Braunschweig University of Art

Link zum großen Bild

In der großen Eingangshalle präsentiert Annika Kahrs die Klang- und Videoarbeit the lord loves changes, it’s one of his greatest delusions. Die Arbeit geht auf die Auseinandersetzung mit dem Werk des afroamerikanischen Komponisten, Musikers und Performers Julius Eastman (1940-1990) zurück, der seine minimalistischen Kompositionen mit politischen, ökonomischen und religiösen bzw. spirituellen Aussagen verknüpft hatte. Für ihre Arbeit greift Annika Kahrs nun auf ein Stück von Eastman zurück, in dem die Melodie des Luther-Chorals Ein feste Burg ist unser Gott (vermutlich Ende 1527) Verwendung fand. Der Choral, der sozusagen als Protestlied der Reformationsbewegung gilt, wurde aber auch in späteren Zeiten und anderen politischen wie gesellschaftlichen Kontexten immer wieder umgedeutet.

So spiegelt für Kahrs dieses Musikstück eben nicht nur einen einzigen Kontext wider, sondern steht vor allem bezeichnenderweise für die ständige Verschiebung, Übersetzung und Umdeutung unterschiedlicher Machtstrukturen innerhalb eines gesellschaftlichen Raum-Zeit-Gefüges.

Aus Eastmans Stück und des Chorals selbst hat Annika Kahrs wiederum ein Orgelstück arrangieren lassen. Gemeinsam mit dem in London lebenden Komponisten Louis d’Heudieres wurde das Stück so konzipiert, dass ein Chor aus 26 PerformerInnen mit und gegen diese Orgelmusik anpfeifen kann. So tritt das kollektive menschliche Pfeifen gegen das mechanische Pfeifen der Orgel an. Über einen längeren musikalischen Prozess findet so ein Changieren zwischen melodischem Pfeifen und protesthafter Geste, bis hin zur sichtlichen körperlichen Erschöpfung, statt.

 

Annika Kahrs lebt und arbeitet in Hamburg und Berlin

1984 in Achim geboren
2005 bis 2012 Studium der Freien Kunst an der Hochschule für bildende Künste Hamburg und Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien sowie Hochschule für Bildende Künste Braunschweig